Presentation Evening

This annual event was held on September 22nd 2017 at the Town Hall in Marlborough.

It was a really enjoyable social evening when the Club celebrated the success of its swimmers and volunteers during 2017. The hall was packed with the swimmers and their supportive families, all seated around the round tables facing the magnificent display of awards being presented.

The Club is proud to own 136 cups and shields some of which were donated as long ago as 1958, the year the Club was formed. Some of the names engraved on the trophies tell stories in their own right and current day swimmers are often proud to find names of relatives from an older generation engraved there. The number of trophies is constantly being increased and the club is indebted to the individuals and organisations who have donated, or who sponsor, a trophy.

Most of the awards were presented to swimmers who had competed during the Club Championships held in July. However some awards were given to members who had been recognised for other achievements within the life of the Club and also there were presentations made to some younger swimmers who had competed in a Style Competition in June. For some this event had been their first competitive experience within the Club and it was good to see their enthusiasm rewarded.

As well as the presentation of the 136 trophies, swimmers were also presented with a fantastic total of 498 medals (awarded for 1st, 2nd and 3rd places achieved). Certificates recording their success were given to 101 swimmers.

Head Coach Richard Smith was proud to present some special awards to recognise the achievements and progress of Club members both in and out of the water. This year he chose Zara Newman and Menzies Campbell as his Swimmers of the Year. Progress awards for age 9 years and under went to Isabella Sant and Oliver Clark and for over 9 years to Grace Burn and Nathaniel Watson. There is also a special award for Endeavour given each year and this went jointly to Matt and Dan Bonser. The award for an Outstanding Contribution to the Life of the Club was given to Mrs. Linda Hutton. Max Twining was presented with an engraved glass paperweight in recognition of his achievement of swimming 100m frontcrawl in less than a minute. The Club also showed its appreciation of two former committee members Jan Heppenstall and Jacquie Henly and they each received a special gift.

The formal part of the evening closed with the announcement of the Club Captains for this coming year – Ellie Brown and Joe Price. They were presented with their distinctive Club Captain shirts by the Head Coach and received a big round of very well deserved applause.